Community Working Group Members

The Monitor Team will be guided by a Community Working Group (CWG) which will meet regularly to hear from county officials and advise the Monitor Team.  The CWG includes the following local leaders, a diverse group representing a wide range of stakeholders, community groups, and areas of expertise. 

  • Hiram “Art” Contreras, Asst. Chief HPD and U.S. Marshall, retired.
  • J. Allen Douglas, Executive Director and General Counsel Downtown Redevelopment Authority.
  • Guadalupe Fernandez, Tahirih Justice Center, Policy and Advocacy Manager, Houston Office.
  • Frances Isbell, M.A., CEO of Healthcare for the Homeless—Houston.
  • Jay Jenkins, J.D., Texas Criminal Justice Coalition.
  • Terrence Koontz, Texas Organizing Project.
  • Becky Landes, hief Executive Officer of The Beacon.
  • Johnny Mata, Presiding Officer, Greater Houston Coalition for Justice.
  • Sr. Maureen O’Connell, M.S.W., former Executive Director of Angela House.
  • Timothy Oettmeier, Ph.D., Exec. Asst Chief Houston Police Department, retired.
  • Sybil Sybille, Founder, The Genesis Establishment, The Next Level Peer Group.
  • Tara Grigg Green, J.D., Foster Care Advocacy Center Texas, Co-Founder and Executive Director.

Professional Advisors

The Monitor Team gratefully acknowledges the generosity of the following Professional Advisors who have agreed to provide the Monitor Team with the benefit of their expertise.

  • Ken Minkoff, MD, Board Certified Psychiatrist, Senior System Consultant, Zia Partners, Clinical Assistant Professor of Psychiatry at Harvard Medical School
  • Carlos Caldwell, Texas Southern University, candidate for a Masters in Public Administration.
  • Michele Dietch, University of Texas at Austin, joint appointment in the LBJ School of Public Affairs and the Law School. 
  • Brett Merfish, J.D., MPP, Texas Appleseed Director of Youth Justice. 
  • Oudrey Hervey, Commander U.S. Navy (Ret.), M.A., M.S., U.S. Vets, Executive Director.